Universities and University Networks

There are 14 universities in the Ministry of Education and Culture sector; two of them are foundation universities (*) and the rest are public corporations.

Higher education in the military field is provided by the National Defence College operating within the Ministry of Defence sector.

University Centres and University Networks

The university field is supplemented by university centres in areas with no university of their own. The centres gather university activity in the region. Their cooperation partners often include regional polytechnics, municipalities and the regional council.

University networks are mostly cooperation bodies for research and education units working in the same field. There are such networks for instance in the fields of communication, health sciences and women studies.