Polytechnics (Universities of Applied Sciences)

There are altogether 24 polytechnics under the branch of government of the Ministry of Education and Culture

  • 3 polytechnics are managed by joint municipal authorities 
  • 21 polytechnics are managed by limited companies 

In addition there is Åland University of Applied Sciences in the self-governing Province of Åland and a Police College subordinate to the Ministry of the Interior.

Some polytechnics use the English name University of Applied Sciences.